Description:

...Our Fine Four-Fendered Friend!

Join CharacterWorks in June 2020 for our 100th Show, the unforgettable Chitty Chitty Bang Bang! Based on the beloved 1968 film version of Ian Fleming's children's book, and featuring an exciting score by the Sherman Brothers (Mary Poppins), Chitty Chitty Bang Bang is one family-friendly blockbuster that audiences will find "truly scrumptious." When eccentric inventor Caractacus Potts sets about restoring an old race car with the help of his children, Jeremy and Jemima, they quickly discover the car has magical properties, including the ability to float and take flight! Trouble occurs when the evil Baron Bomburst desires the magic car for himself. The family joins forces with Truly Scrumptious and batty Grandpa Potts to outwit the dastardly Baron and Baroness and their villainous henchmen, Boris, Goran, and the Child Catcher. Filled with amazing stage spectacle and memorable songs, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang is a high-flying, fun-filled adventure for the entire family!

Dates / Times:

  • Wednesday, Jun 24th @ 7:00pm
  • Thursday, Jun 25th @ 7:00pm
  • Friday, Jun 26th @ 2:00pm
  • Friday, Jun 26th @ 7:00pm
  • Saturday, Jun 27th @ 2:00pm
  • Saturday, Jun 27th @ 7:00pm
  • Sunday, Jun 28th @ 2:00pm
Tickets go on sale Monday March 23, 2020 at 5:00pm

Ticket Prices:


Lora M. Robins Theatre (Steward School):

11600 Gayton Road, Richmond, VA 23238


Show Notes:

Auditions, Callbacks, and Rehearsals
North Run Baptist Church

2100 Lydell Drive, Richmond, VA 23228

Tech Week and Performances
The Lora M. Robins Theatre at The Steward School

11600 Gayton Rd, Richmond, VA 23238

---

Auditions and Callbacks
Auditions: Friday, March 20, 5:00 – 9:00 p.m.
Callbacks: Saturday, March 21, 9:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Cast List Posted: Sunday, March 22, 5:00 p.m.
  
Rehearsals
WEEK 1
Fri, Mar 27 (6:00 - 9:00 p.m.) 1st PARENT MEETING and Production Fee Due (7:00 - 9:00pm)
Sat, Mar 28 (9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.)
WEEK 2
Fri, Apr 17 (6:00 - 9:00 p.m.) 
Sat, Apr 18 (9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.)
WEEK 3
Fri, Apr 24 (6:00 - 9:00pm) 
Sat, Apr 25 (9:30am - 4:30pm)
WEEK 4
Fri, May 1 (6:00 - 9:00 p.m.) 
Sat, May 2 (9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.)
WEEK 5
Fri, May 8 (6:00 - 9:00 p.m.) 
Sat, May 9 (9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.)
WEEK 6
Fri, May 15 (6:00 - 9:00 p.m.) 
Sat, May 16 (9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.)
WEEK 7
Fri, May 22 (6:00 - 9:00 p.m.) 
Sat, May 23 (9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.)
(No Rehearsal May 29-30 - Academy Festival)
WEEK 8
Fri, Jun 5 (6:00 - 9:00 p.m.)
Sat, Jun 6 (9:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.)
WEEK 9
Fri, Jun 12 (6:00 - 9:00 p.m.) 
Sat, Jun 13 (9:30am - 4:30 p.m.)
 
Costume fittings and headshots at the CWorks warehouse will be scheduled at a later date.

Tech Week (NO ABSENCES ALLOWED)
Fri, Jun 19 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.)
Sat, Jun 20 (1:00 – 9:00 p.m.)
Mon, Jun 22 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.)
Tues, Jun 23 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.)
Wed, Jun 24 (11:00 a.m. call, Final Dress at 1:00 p.m. - Cast must miss school this day.)
 
7 Performances
Cast must stay on site until the end of the final performance of the day.
Wed, Jun 24 @ 7:00 p.m. (11:00 a.m. call)
Thur, June 25 @ 7:00 p.m. (5:00 p.m. call)
Fri, Jun 26 @ 2:00 & 7:00 p.m. (Noon call)
Sat, Jun 27 @ 2:00 p.m. & 7:00 p.m. (Noon call)
Sun, Jun 28 @ 2:00 p.m. (Noon call)


Characters:

Caractacus Potts

An eccentric, brilliant, English inventor and loving father and son. His inventions and children are his life.

Truly Scrumptious

Daughter of the famous candy maker, Lord Scrumptious. Strong and independent, but gentle. Falls in love with Caractacus.

Jeremy Potts

Caractucus's son. An adventurous boy with a vivid imagination. A total child at heart who loves his family

Jemima Potts

Caractucus's daughter. An adventurous girl with a vivid imagination. A total child at heart who loves her family

Grandpa Potts

Caractacus's father, who is a former war hero. He loves to tell old war stories. A sort of second father to Jeremy and Jemima.

Baron Bomburst

Tyrannical ruler of Vulgaria and a lover of toys. A man-child, he is very immature, needy, and whiney.

Baroness Bomburst

Head of the Vulgarian Parliament and a hater of children. Tyrannical and dramatic.

Boris

A member of the two-person Vulgarian gang that works for the Baron and Baroness. Though he is not very smart, he is the leader.

Goran

One member of the two-person Vulgarian gang that works for the Baron and Baroness. Very dumb.

The Childcatcher

He makes sure that Vulgaria is child-free. Evil and manipulative. Hates children almost as much as the Baroness.

The Toymaker

With all children outlawed in Vulgaria, this toy-making genius only works for the child-like Baron. Smart but frightened.

Lord Scrumptious

Owner of the Scrumptious Sweet Factory. Extremely busy, important, and decisive.

Ensemble

Kids, Inventors, Soldiers, Townspeople, English Crowd, Factory Workers, Fair Goers, etc.