Description:

Two Worlds, One Family

Washed up on the shores of West Africa, an infant boy is taken in and raised by gorillas who name him Tarzan. Apart from striving for acceptance from his ape father, Tarzan's life is mostly monkey business until a human expedition stumbles into his tribe's territory, and he encounters creatures like himself for the first time. As Tarzan struggles to navigate a jungle thick with emotion, he discovers his animal upbringing may be clashing with his human instincts. Featuring heart-pumping music by rock legend Phil Collins and a book by Tony Award-winning playwright David Henry Hwang, Tarzan is a powerhouse of a musical that will be sure to captivate audiences of all ages!

Dates / Times:

  • Thursday, May 23rd @ 7:00pm
  • Friday, May 24th @ 7:00pm
  • Saturday, May 25th @ 2:30pm
  • Saturday, May 25th @ 7:00pm
  • Sunday, May 26th @ 2:30pm
  • Sunday, May 26th @ 7:00pm
Tickets go on sale Monday April 15, 2019 at 5:00pm

Ticket Prices:

The Cultural Arts Center at Glen Allen:

2880 Mountain Road
Glen Allen, VA 23060


Show Notes:

Auditions
North Run Baptist Church
2100 Lydell Dr.
Richmond, VA 23228

Auditions - Fri, Mar 22 (5:00 - 10:00pm)
Callbacks - Sat, Mar 23 (9:30am - 4:30pm)
Cast List posted - Sun, Mar 24 (5:00pm)


Rehearsals (North Run Baptist Church)
WEEK 1
Mon, Apr 8 (5:00 - 9:00pm)
Fri, Apr 12 (5:00 - 9:00pm) 1st PARENT MEETING (7:00 - 9:00 pm)
Sat, Apr 13 (9:30am - 4:30pm)

WEEK 2
Mon, Apr 15 (5:00 - 9:00pm)
Fri, Apr 19 (5:00 - 9:00pm)
Sat, Apr 20 (9:30am - 4:30pm)

WEEK 3
Mon, Apr 22 (5:00 - 9:00pm)
Fri, Apr 26 (5:00 - 9:00pm)
Sat, Apr 27 (9:30am - 4:30pm)

WEEK 4
Mon, Apr 29 (5:00 - 9:00pm)
Fri, May 3 (5:00 - 9:00pm)
Sat, May 4 (9:30am - 4:30pm)

WEEK 5
Fri, May 10 (5:00 - 9:00pm) 2nd PARENT MEETING (7:00 - 9:00pm)
Sat, May 11 (9:30am - 4:30pm)

WEEK 6
Fri, May 17  (5:00 - 9:00pm)
Sat, May 18 (9:30am - 4:30pm)

Tech Week (The Cultural Arts Center at Glen Allen) NO ABSENCES ALLOWED
Mon, May 20 (5:00 - 9:00pm)
Tue, May 21 (5:00 - 9:00pm)
Wed, May 22 (5:00 - 9:00pm)

Thur, May 23 (11:00am call, Final Dress at 1:00pm)
(Cast must miss school this day.)

6 Performances (The Cultural Arts Center at Glen Allen)
Thur, May 23 @ 7:00pm (11:00am call)
Fri, May 24 @ 7:00pm (5:00pm call)
Sat, May 25 @ 2:30pm & 7:00pm (12:30 call)
Sun, May 26 @ 2:30pm & 7:00pm (1pm call)


Characters:

Tarzan

Our story's protagonist. A vulnerable, fearless young man raised by apes. Best friend of Terk and falls in love with Jane.

Jane

A strong-willed Victorian botanist with her eye on adventure, nature, and eventually Tarzan. No prissy miss, but rather owns her femininity.

Kala

A loving and very important mother ape who risks expulsion from the herd by adopting the human child; a warm soul with just enough mothering control to be both doting and stern.

Kerchak

Head of the pack. He is stubborn and righteous, but for a reason; his crusty outside hides a warm center that often gets lost. He must have a big stage presence.

Terk

The wildly energetic and fun-filled ape-buddy of Tarzan who thinks he knows all and tries to be both mentor and guide.

Porter

A bumbling English professor of biology and Jane's father. Offers much comedic relief.

Clayton

A brutish, greedy hunter and guide. He is an ego-driven, bombastic know-it-all who is both suave and cunning.

Young Tarzan

An innocent young boy. Loses his parents and is raised by the apes.

Young Terk

A sarcastic adolescent ape. Tarzan's best friend.

Snipes

Clayton’s weasely, but ultimately honest sidekick.

Leopard

A fierce carnivore that threatens both gorillas and humans.

Tarzan's Father and Mother

Appear at the beginning of the show; both are protecting and loving of each other and their baby son.

Ensemble

Apes; Jungle Creatures; Expedition Crew