Description:

Oh The Thinks You Can Think!

One of the most performed shows in America, Seussical the Musical is a fantastical, magical, musical extravaganza based on the works of Dr. Seuss! Serving as narrator extraordinaire, The Cat in the Hat tells the story of Horton, an elephant who discovers a speck of dust that contains the Whos, including Jojo, a Who child sent off to military school for thinking too many "thinks." Horton faces a double challenge: not only must he protect the Whos from a world of naysayers and dangers, but he must guard an abandoned egg, left in his care by the irresponsible Mayzie La Bird. Although Horton faces ridicule, danger, kidnapping and a trial, the intrepid Gertrude McFuzz never loses faith in him. Ultimately, the powers of friendship, loyalty, family and community are challenged and emerge triumphant. This creative musical caper is sure to be a memorable show for one and all!

Dates / Times:

  • Thursday, Feb 6th @ 7:00pm
  • Friday, Feb 7th @ 7:00pm
  • Saturday, Feb 8th @ 2:00pm
  • Saturday, Feb 8th @ 7:00pm
  • Sunday, Feb 9th @ 2:00pm

Ticket Prices:


Tomahawk Creek Middle School Theater:

1600 Learning Loop, Midlothian, VA 23114


Show Notes:

Rehearsals
WEEK 1
Mon, Dec 9 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.)
Fri, Dec 13 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.) FAMILY MEETING and Production Fee Due (7:30 – 9:00 p.m.)
Sat, Dec 14 (9:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m).
WEEK 2
Fri, Jan 3 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.) 
Sat, Jan 4 (9:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.)
WEEK 3
Mon, Jan 6 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.)
Fri, Jan 10 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.) 
Sat, Jan 11 (9:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.)
WEEK 4
Mon, Jan 13 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.)
Fri, Jan 17 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.) 
Sat, Jan 18 (9:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.)
WEEK 5
Mon, Jan 20 (9:30 – 4:30 p.m.) **Martin Luther King Jr. Day**
Fri, Jan 24 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.) PARENT MEETING (7:00 – 9:00 p.m.)
Sat, Jan 25 (9:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.)
WEEK 6
Fri, Jan 31 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.) 

Tech Week (NO ABSENCES ALLOWED)
Fri, Jan 31 (time TBD) & Sat, Feb 1 (10:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.) - Move-in (cast not called)
Sat, Feb 1 (1:00 – 9:00 p.m.)
Mon, Feb 3 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.)
Tue, Feb 4 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.)
Wed, Feb 5 (5:00 – 9:00 p.m.)
Thur, Feb 6 (11:00 a.m. call, Final Dress at 1:00 p.m. – Cast must miss school this day.)
 
5 Performances
Cast must stay on site until the end of the final performance of the day.
Thur, Feb 6 @ 7:00 p.m. (11 a.m. call)
Fri, Feb 7 @ 7:00 p.m. (5:00 p.m. call)
Sat, Feb 8 @ 2:00 p.m. & 7:00 p.m. (Noon call)
Sun, Feb 9 @ 2:00 p.m. (Noon call)


Characters:

The Cat in the Hat

Jojo

Horton

Gertrude McFuzz

Mayzie LaBird

Mr. Mayor

Mrs. Mayor

Sour Kangaroo

Young Kangaroo

General Gengus Khan Schmitz

The Bird Girls

The Wickersham Brothers

Yurtle the Turtle

Vlad Vladikoff

The Grinch

Who Child 1

Who Child 2

Jungle Creatures

Whos

Cadets

It's Possible Ensemble

Circus Ensemble

Hunches